Has the youth become more empowered in the last decade? To what extent does this play into the political landscape? These were a few questions the conference titled, “An empowered youth for an empowered Europe“ answered. From the 28th to the 30th of September, 90 delegates met in Bucharest, Romania to discuss key themes related to digital literacy, migration, the energy crisis and youth political participation.

The conference was opened by speeches from YEPP President Lidia Pereira and Katja Plate (Konrad Adenauer Foundation Romania & Moldova). Our participants had the opportunity to receive key insights from guest speakers including, Sebastian Burduja (Romanian Minister of Digitalisation), Siegried Muresan (MEP and EPP Vice President), Csilla Hegedüs (State Secretary, Ministry of Investments and European Projects) and Loránt Antal (President of the Energy Committee).

The event was also marked by a private visit to the Primaverii Palace.

Additionally, resolutions focused on climate realism, Ukraine-Russian conflict and AI were adopted amongst others. Access all resolutions here.

 YEPP 25th Anniversary

This year marks exactly 25 years of YEPP defending the interests of the youth in Europe, with the celebratory event having taken place on the 1st of October 2022. Since 1997, YEPP has pioneered into the largest European political youth organisation, representing 63 centre-right organisations across Europe.

Ahead of this, YEPP President, Lídia Pereira stated: “We are able to unite where others polarise. We find unifying solutions to the tasks at hand – our values remaining a strong guiding compass, never ideologically inflated. YEPP will continue leading tomorrow Europe for the next 25 years to come and beyond.”

YEPP welcomed over 120 guests, including YEPP Alumni  and past Board Members to the Romanian Senate. The celebration was marked by opening speeches from Mara Mares (YEPP Vice-President and TNL President), Mihaela Paraschiv (International Secretary, PNL) and Peter Hefele (Policy Director, Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies).

This was followed by an interactive discussion titled “Shared Experiences of Generations. The next 25 years?” where alumni and current YEPP members took the opportunity to critically reflect on lessons learned but also what YEPP should stand for and achieve in the next 25 years.

YEPP highly appreciated the keynote speeches delivered by Siegfried Muresan (MEP and EPP Vice President), Mariya Gabriel (European Commissioner for Youth), Manfred Weber (President of the EPP) and Ursula Von der Leyen (President of the European Commission), where the contributions of YEPP were highlighted and recognised.

YEPP would like to thank the Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies (WMCES) and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation Romania & Moldova (KAS) for their support in planning and organising this event.

A special thank you goes to the Tineretul National Liberal for hosting this conference and celebratory event.

The Winners of the YEPP Awards:

YEPP Prize for Freedom Fighters

YDA,Ukraine; BM, Ukraine; YR Ukraine; SM, Ukraine

YEPP Prize for Human Rights

YF, Belarus; YD, Belarus; YCSU, Belarus

YEPP Prize Innovation Digitalization and Sustainability

ONNED, Greece

 YEPP Resolutions Champion

JÖVP, Austria

YEPP member of the year 2022

Pasi Huikuri, MUF ,Sweden