Dear President Charles Michel,

In August of this year, following the Belarusian Presidential election, the Youth of the European People’s Party (YEPP) launched a campaign called #WithBelarus to show our support for the people of Belarus and send them a clear message of European solidarity. This campaign has drawn support from our member organisations and young parliamentarians from across Europe.

As you are aware, the situation in Belarus has continued to escalate and protestors continue to risk their own safety by taking to the streets to make their voices heard. Each day protestors are being arrested and tortured for opposing the Lukashenko regime and this fight will not end until their demand for democratic change is met.

In light of this, we see it as imperative to invite the leader of the Belarusian opposition, Svetlana Tsikhanouskaya, to address the upcoming meeting of the European Council. As Belarusian issues are European issues, it is crucial that the true voice of the Belarusian people is heard at the highest level of European politics. Inviting Ms. Tsikhanouskaya to address the meeting would be a clear statement showing that the European Union stands with the people of Belarus in their fight for a future that is democratic and free.

Yours Sincerely,

  1. Lidia Pereira MEP, YEPP President, PSD, (Portugal)
  2. Siegfried Muresan, EPP Vice-President, PNL (Romania)
  3. Eva Maydell MEPGERB (Bulgaria)
  4. Sven Simon MEPCDU (Germany)
  5. Roberta Metsola MEPPN (Malta)
  6. Christophe Hansen MEPCSV (Luxembourg)
  7. Maria Walsh MEPFine Gael (Ireland)
  8. François-Xavier Bellamy MEP, LR (France)
  9. Stelios Kympouropoulos MEP, New Democracy (Greece)
  10. Tomáš Zdechovský MEP, KDU-ČSL (Czechia)
  11. Karlo Ressler MEPHDZ (Croatia)
  12. Isabel Benjumea MEPPartido Popular (Spain)
  13. Lukas Mandl MEPVolkspartei (Austria)
  14. Magdalena Adamowicz MEPIndependent (Poland)
  15. Arba Kokalari MEP, Moderaterna (Sweden)
  16. Neale Richmond MPFine Gael (Ireland)
  17. Kostas Kyranakis MP, New Democracy (Greece)
  18. Christos Dermentzopoulos MP, New Democracy (Greece)
  19. Evangelos Liakos MPNew Democracy (Greece)
  20. Yiannis Melas MP, New Democracy (Greece)
  21. Tasos Chatzivasileiou MPNew Democracy (Greece)
  22. Mara Mares MP, YEPP Vice President, PNL, (Romania) 
  23. Alexandre Poco, PSD (Portugal)
  24. Sofia Matos MP, PSD (Portugal)
  25. Andre Neves MP, PSD (Portugal)
  26. Margarida Balseiro Lopes MP, PSD (Portugal)
  27. Duarte Marques MP, PSD (Portugal)
  28. Barry Ward Senator, Fine Gael (Ireland)
  29. Pierre-Henri Dumont MP, LR (France)
  30. Diego Gago Bugarin MP, on behalf of young parliamentarians from Partido Popular (Spain)
  31. Pawel Kowal MPPO (Poland)
  32. Martina Kaufmann MPÖVP (Austria)
  33. Stijn De Roo MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  34. Maaike de rudder MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  35. Brecht Warnez MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  36. Orry Van de Wauwer MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  37. Nawal Farih MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  38. TLDM, Moldova
  39. KrFU, Norway
  40. KDU, Sweden
  41. JONGCD&V, Belgium
  42. JeunesCDH, Belgium
  43. YFG, Ireland
  44. JG SVP, Italy
  45. ONNED, Greece
  46. FIG, Italy
  47. JSD, Portugal
  48. NNGG, Spain
  49. MUF, Sweden
  50. TNL, Romania